Oh, My, Artichoke Spinach Dip

I follow several food blogs, which I’ll talk about throughout our experience; I’m sure. With tonight’s recipe, I drew inspiration from a food blog that I read from time to time, but I usually find myself thinking, “Now, that is far too fancy,” or “When would I ever go out and buy those ingredients?” Concerns such as these should be rarely headed (unless a recipe creator informs you that you MUST find a certain brand of chocolate or you HAVE TO, upon certain death, use a particular pan). But Heidi Swanson, the author of almost two cookbooks (the second is being published now) and of her own website, 101cookbooks.com, doesn’t ever mandate. She guides you into a world of delicious and beautiful foods that are really, really interesting. If you do read her website, I hope you’re inspired, too.

These ingredients are not too far off from what I typically keep on hand. I just needed to buy a couple of things to complete the ingredient list, and, wow, it was well worth it. I got warm, creamy, delicious, rich, comforting, but-not-too-heavy dip that goes well with flat bread and tortilla chips. (Since these are the only two we tested, I can confirm that they work and are delicious. I am sure this dip would remain delicious in a myriad of applications– naan, pizza, baguette, frittata, spoon.)

Oh, My Artichoke Spinach Dip

1 (14-ounce) can artichokes, drained
4 ounces silken tofu (which equates to about a quarter of most tofu packages)
3 large cloves of garlic
2/3 c Greek yogurt
1/3 c shredded parmesan cheese
1 (10-ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and dried
1/2 t sea salt
pinch of crushed red pepper flakes
more parmesan for sprinkling

Preheat the oven for 350°F. Puree artichokes, tofu, and garlic in food processor.

In a quart baking dish, whisk yogurt, cheese, spinach, salt, and red pepper flakes. Add pureed mixture. Sprinkle extra cheese on top.

Bake uncovered for about 40 minutes at 350°F or until the cheese has just started to turn golden, then turn the oven up to broil and bake an additional 10 or so minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes.

2 Responses to “Oh, My, Artichoke Spinach Dip”

  1. Extreme loved eating this. It was at the exact perfect time. Flavor amazor. Chips or flatbread; DIP SOMETHING QUICK. Dip-lomatic yummunity.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

