Apple Streusel Muffins

**Disclaimer::: These are muffins that I made. I’m not entirely sure why they weren’t the GREATEST MUFFINS EVER. But they weren’t. If you can think of ways to make them better, I’d love to know. ***

Streusel. Mm. I guess it’s a thing with me. Maybe it’s partly because I know the practice of spelling streusel correctly. “U” after the “e”!! Maybe it’s also because I like new and more complex things, and I’m still getting the handle of it.

I intended for the muffins to work for my preschoolers, hoping the three year olds would delight in the slightly sweet but not overly sugary concoction. And also enjoy being introduced to new textures. (See My Opinion About Textures) Ugh. What was I thinking?? I made these muffins, but did not take them into school. I like the textures. I like the subtly sweet. I like the crumbly streusel. I like the small apple chunklettes. (There’s got to be a nicer word for that.)

Apple Streusel Muffins
Inspired by Emeril Lagasse

Muffin
1 1/2 c A-P flour
1 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1 1/2 t ground cinnamon
2 large eggs
1/2 c plain Greek yogurt
4 T melted butter
1 c packed light brown sugar
1 c chopped golden delicious apple

Streusel Topping
1/4 c rolled oats
1/4 light brown sugar
1/8 c A-P flour
1/2 t ground cinnamon
2 T melted unsalted butter

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

In a large bowl, sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. In another bowl, whisk eggs, yogurt, and melted butter. Add the sugar and whisk to combine. Add to the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Fold in the apples.

Spray a 12-cup muffin tin (I splurged! I have one now.) with cooking spray and divide the batter amongst the tins. Only fill about 2/3 full or less if you think you’re going to be serving them to three year olds and you also have an extra 6-cup muffin tin you’d like to use for the extra.

Streusel topping: Combine all the ingredients and mix until combined and crumbly.

Sprinkle about 1 T of streusel over each muffin.

Bake about 25 minutes or until tester comes out clean. Let them cool in the tin for 10 minutes. Continue cooling on wire rack before serving.

2 Responses to “Apple Streusel Muffins”

  1. Beware. These go stale only after a couple of days. Sad. Make a half batch or eat them up quickly!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

